Visual Literacy/Arts in Education

I learned from the reflection materials that visual literary and the arts are essential parts of learning in the 21st century. Being able to interpret and assess visual media is an important skill in our post-Gutenberg society, where we increasingly rely less on text as a form of communication and more on graphics, images, and sound.  media literacy wordcloudSchools need to help students to develop these skills. Using the arts as a tool to help teach core subjects is a great way to help students to grasp abstract ideas and express themselves. Arts integration is the motivation for many kids to be enthusiastic learners. For example, since beginning an arts integration program at Bates Middle School, suspension rates have dropped 23 percent. Furthermore, being involved in the arts helps many people to enjoy their lives more in general. Andrew Miller, the author of “Visual Art as Critical Thinking,” claims that being involved in singing encouraged him to stay in school and remains a crucial part of his identity.

I have had some experiences in the use of art in learning before. In elementary school, I went to a magnet school for the arts where I was involved in music, visual  art, and drama. Now, I am still involved in music as a sister of Sigma Alpha Iota Music Fraternity and a member of the Redcoat marching band.  Doing music-related activities has helped me to form many friendships in school and gives me motivation to go to school every day. One of the most memorable arts-integration projects I have done is the Scarlet Letter project I was required to do in my American Literature class. My classmates and I were required to create a piece of art that was representative of the themes of the Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne and write an essay explaining our piece. I chose to write a piece of music using Finale software.

reflection photo

I think that the photo blog in EDIT2000 is somewhat challenging. I am not a visual learner, so it is a challenge for me to find photos that support my arguments and create a unique and professional-looking blog. However, I am enjoying creating this photo blog, and I feel like I am learning a lot by doing it.

Image Citations:

http://www.eavi.eu/joomla/about-us/47-media-literacy

2 thoughts on “Visual Literacy/Arts in Education

  1. This post helped me get to know you more! I think it’s so awesome how talented you are in music! I also didn’t know that the suspension rates decrease in programs where the arts are used more and more effectively, but at the same time, it’s not a huge shock because students who enjoy what they are doing especially in the classroom are less likely to focus on the matter and not about disrupting the classroom.

    • Thank you so much- I’ve been involved in music since I was 8, and it’s a huge part of my life! I agree that kids are much less likely to be disruptive in the classroom if they enjoy the material they are learning. I feel like sometimes in our society we look down on kids who are more passionate about the arts than academic subjects. I think that educators need to allow kids like this to nurture their talents as well, just as kids who love math or language arts are encouraged to well n these subjects.

Leave a Reply

